Isaiah 21

Scripture: from verse 12

“Morning is coming, but also the night.
If you want to ask, ask! Come back again!”

Observation:  This is the answer given to the people asking how much longer the night (presumably meaning the period of destruction) will last.  I don’t really know what it means, but I suspect He’s saying that they haven’t asked their real question.  As long as they are asking questions that are only tangential to what they really want to know, it doesn’t matter how clear or how cryptic that answers are.  They won’t get their real answer until they ask their real question.

Application:  God wants a relationship with us.  That means we have to communicate properly, and ask about the things that are bothering us.  We can’t hide behind more polite questions and expect to know Him fully.

Prayer:  Holy Spirit, help me to know what I am not asking my real questions – when I am being embarrassed or coy or making assumptions that can’t be supported and asking questions based on that.  Teach me to turn to you for knowledge, and thank you for giving me wisdom when I ask for it.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

