Isaiah 1:16-31

Scripture: from verse 25

I will cleanse your impurities as with lye…

Observation: Psalm 51 says, “Purge me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me and I will be whiter than snow.”  But the psalmist was repentant and eagerly turning to God for cleansing.  Israel in the time of Isaiah was ignoring God and putting their time and energy and wealth into other pursuits and deities.  So instead of a (relatively) gentle cleansing with herbs and hot water, they get lye.

God wants His people clean.  He will not allow us to continue in destructive behaviors and bad habits.  He wants what is best for us and He wants us to be close to Him, so He removes the things that hinder that.  It isn’t always fun.

Application:  Surrender to God.  He’s only trying to help, after all, and keeping things back from Him won’t work.

Prayer:  Father, thank you for cleansing me.  Help me to see the areas I have not given over to you and allow you to come and purify them.  Thank you for helping me grow.  Amen.

Leave a Reply

