Leviticus 25:29-55

Scripture: verse 55

For to Me the people of Israel are slaves; they are my slaves whom I brought out of the land of Egypt; I am Adonai your God.

Observation:  This verse is repeated twice in the passage, and it concerns poverty in Israel: Israelites who became poor could sell themselves into slavery, but they were to be treated well, as if they were an employee or tenant, and they went free during the Jubilee year.  People of Israel were not to be treated as property.

What struck me here is the reasoning: Israelites could not be owned by humans because they were already owned by God.  They had to treat each other well, not just because they were humans, but because they were God’s property and He did not want His things mistreated.  We are God’s treasured possession.

Modern Americans don’t really like the idea of being property.  Cultures change, for the better in this case.  But being God’s possession brings a sense of safety.  If He owns us, then it’s up to Him to take care of us.  He gets all the stress, and we get to belong.

I love it when the feeling of belonging wraps around me like a warm coat.  Knowing that He has me exactly where I’m supposed to be.  Knowing that I’ve been called by name (Isaiah 41:1) and bought with a price (1 Cor 6:20) and I belong to Him.  I don’t have to worry about my identity or my purpose or my worth – that’s His problem.  I belong here in His love.

Application:  You belong to God.  Let Him worry about things.

Prayer:  Yeshua, thank you for making me yours.  Thank you for giving me a place to grow and for taking care of me and polishing me and protecting me.  Help me to trust your love.  Amen.

One thought on “Leviticus 25:29-55

Leave a Reply

