Ephesians 5:1-5

Scripture: verse 3

Among you there should not even be mentioned sexual immorality, or any kind of impurity, or greed.

Observation:  Two things struck me here.  The first is that we’re not even supposed to discuss these things – except presumably as is needed for teaching.  We’re not supposed to be gossiping about them, or speculating about them.  Sin is not for thinking about.  The things we think about gain power, and we should not give that power to sin.

The other thing that struck me is the pairing of sexual immorality and greed.  (“Impurity” is kind of vague, so I think I’m going to leave it alone, at least for now.)  We tend to treat sex stuff as the Big Sin, as if it’s worse than the others.  But it isn’t.  Greed is equally shameful.

Possibly the link between the two is the need to be content.  C. S. Lewis speculated in Perelandra that the root of sin is the desire to have control over what happens to us – to make pleasant things happen over and over again whenever we want.

Admittedly I’m writing from a place of privilege here, as I’m not lacking in either affection or material wealth.  (Though one wonders if that’s because God has blessed me, or because I’ve chosen to be content in those areas.  Fascinating.  Some of each, maybe?)  At any rate, the point is to be grateful for what we are given – good things to think about, the love of our friends and family, and the security of God’s provision.

Application:  Dwell on God’s blessings.  It’s that simple.  Notice the things He has done for me, and dismiss discontented thoughts.  Hard to apply consistently, but I can at least make steps in the right direction.

Prayer:  Yeshua, thank you for all the ways you’ve blessed me.  Thank you for my Hero and my girls and my family and my home.  Help me to find interest in the the things you would have me thinking about.  Amen.

One thought on “Ephesians 5:1-5

  1. Every time I read your Blog, I get a smile on my face! So much depth & richness & humble gentleness in a few short lines!

Leave a Reply

