Ephesians 1:6-10

Scripture: verse 6

So that we would bring Him praise commensurate with the glory of the grace He gave us through the Beloved One.

Observation: “He” is Adonai at the moment – God the Father.  Looking at other translations confirms that this isn’t about us praising God, but about us being the praise – we are the trophy or reward God gets because of the glory of His grace.

Which is kinda weird.  I’m not really accustomed to being a trophy.  But a trophy is something that one works for, and something that one treasures.  He is honored by the fact that I am His daughter, not by any effort I might make to honor Him.

Sometimes I joke that I’m a “kept woman,” because Hero is the one with a job and tends to do a lot of the projects at home – calling home repair people (I’m kinda phone-phobic) and bookkeeping and so on.  And sometimes it’s a guilt-joke, meant to cover the fact that I’m feeling guilty about the state of the house.  But most of the time it’s a happy joke, because I know that Hero loves me and loves taking care of me, whether the dishes are washed or not.  And God is the same way only more so: He loves me and He loves doing all the work for me, because I am His daughter.  And I honor Him when I let Him do the work.

Application: I honor God when I let God do the work.  I don’t honor Him when I try to be perfect and holy on my own power.  (Mostly I get cranky.)  I don’t honor Him when I stress over the things I get wrong.  I don’t honor Him when I feel guilty.  I honor Him when I rest on His grace.  I honor Him when I love Him.

Prayer: Father, thank you for the Beloved One and the grace you’ve provided.  Teach me to honor you, to stay safe in your love and not worry about anything.

Leave a Reply

